Travis P. Clardy is an attorney in Holland & Knight's Austin office and has more than 30 years of experience in civil litigation. Mr. Clardy's practice involves civil litigation at the state and federal levels in a broad range of commercial matters, including employment law, environmental law, trucking litigation, insurance litigation, product liability litigation and commercial litigation. He represents individuals, private business interests and Fortune 500 companies, as well as provides business and corporate counsel.

In addition to his law practice, Mr. Clardy serves as State Representative for Texas House District 11, which covers Cherokee, Nacogdoches and Rusk counties. On the Texas House's Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee, he worked to ensure that local municipalities cannot overregulate gun store owners. As a member of the Human Services Committee, he worked with his colleagues to streamline and reduce regulations on long-term care facilities. Mr. Clardy has been recognized for his work to facilitate prosecution of criminals who manufacture and sell dangerous synthetic drugs, as well as his support of law enforcement, rural healthcare and protecting Constitutional rights. In addition, Mr. Clardy authored omnibus legislation encouraging the development of hotel and convention centers throughout Texas through the local use of hotel occupancy taxes.

Prior to joining Holland & Knight, Mr. Clardy has been engaged in the practice of law as a sole practitioner, a partner in a prominent East Texas litigation firm, as an owner of title companies and, most recently, as the partner in charge of the Nacogdoches-based East Texas office of a major regional law firm.


  • Pepperdine University School of Law, J.D.
  • Abilene Christian University, B.B.A., Management
Bar Admissions/Licenses
  • Texas
Court Admissions
  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Texas
  • U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas
  • U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Texas
  • U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
  • Texas Sunset Advisory Commission
  • Center for Legislative Energy and Environmental Research (CLEER), Board of Directors, 2015-2019
  • Nacogdoches County Bar Association, President, 2010-2012
  • Shelby County Bar Association, President, 1993-1995
  • East Texas Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, Executive Board
  • Nacogdoches Rotary Club, Paul Harris Fellow
  • Stephen F. Austin State University College of Fine Arts, Dean's Circle
  • American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA), East Texas Chapter
  • State Bar of Texas
  • Texas Association of Defense Counsel (TADC)
  • Defense Research Institute (DRI)
  • Trucking Industry Defense Association (TIDA)
Honors & Awards
  • Champion for Free Enterprise, Texas Association of Business, 2017, 2020
  • Champion of Long Term Care, Texas Health Care Association (TCHA), 2017, 2019, 2020
  • Legislator of the Year, Texas Municipal Police Association, 2015, 2019
  • Recognition for Support of Fine Arts, Stephen F. Austin State University College of Fine Arts Dean's Circle, 2019
  • Legislator of the Year, Deep East Texas Council of Governments, 2019
  • Legislator of the Year, East Texas Council of Governments, 2019
  • Appreciation of Support, Nacogdoches County Retired Teachers Association, 2016, 2019
  • Graduate, Legislative Energy Horizon Institute, 2019
  • Citizen of the Year, Rusk Chamber, 2018
  • Champion of Transparency, Texas Press Association, 2017
  • Appreciation for Dedication and Partnership, County and District Clerks' Association of Texas, 2015–2016
  • Friend of the First Amendment Award, Texas Press Association, 2015
  • TORCHbearer Award, Texas Organization of Rural and Community Hospitals, 2015
  • Law and Order Award, Texas District and County Attorneys Association, 2015
  • Texas Health Advocacy Tribute Award, Texas Hospital Association, 2015
  • Hall of Fame Inductee, Nacogdoches Heritage Festival, 2015
  • William B. Travis Award, Texas Citizens Coalition, 2015
  • Courageous Conservative Award, Texas Conservative Coalition, 2015
  • Legislator of the Year Award, Texas Civil Justice League, 2013