Press Release
September 14, 2012

Twenty-Eight Holland & Knight Attorneys Named 2013 "Lawyers of the Year" by The Best Lawyers in America

MIAMI – September 14, 2012 – Holland & Knight is pleased to announce that 28 of the firm's lawyers have been honored as 2013 "Lawyers of the Year" by The Best Lawyers in America® 2013 (Copyright 2012 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken, SC).

Each year, Best Lawyers designates “Lawyers of the Year” in high-profile legal specialties in large legal communities. Only a single lawyer in each specialty in each community is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.” Lawyers receiving this accolade have some of the highest ratings in the Best Lawyers surveys by earning a high level of respect among their peers for their abilities, professionalism and integrity.

The following Holland & Knight lawyers were named in their respective practice areas:

Chester E. Bacheller (Tampa) - Securities Regulation
Martha W. Barnett (Tallahassee) - Government Relations Practice
Sanford L. Bohrer (Miami) - First Amendment Law and Media Law
Francis W. Costello (Los Angeles) - International Trade and Finance Law
James M. Ervin, Jr. (Tallahassee) - Corporate Law and Tax Litigation & Controversy
George D. Gabel, Jr. (Jacksonville) - Admiralty & Maritime Law
Norman M. Glasgow, Jr. (Washington, D.C.) - Real Estate Law
Robert J. Grammig (Tampa) - Corporate Law, International Trade and Finance Law, Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity Law
Stephen H. Grimes (Tallahassee) - Appellate Practice
Mitchell E. Herr (Miami) - Corporate Governance Law
Jerome W. Hoffman (Tallahassee) - Health Care Law
Marilyn J. Holifield (Miami) - Labor & Employment Litigation
Edward F. Koren, Jr. (Tampa) - Trusts & Estates Litigation
Jerome L. Levine (Los Angeles) - Native American Law
George Mencio (Miami) - Transportation Law
William J. Mutryn (Washington, D.C.) - Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Frederick D. Page (Jacksonville) - Intellectual Property Litigation
William B. Piels (San Francisco) - Equipment Finance Law
Paul R. Regensdorf (Jacksonville) - Bet-the-Company Litigation
George "Buddy" E. Schulz, Jr. (Jacksonville) - Commercial Litigation
Lawrence E. Sellers (Tallahassee) - Administrative / Regulatory Law
Roger W. Sims (Orlando) - Environmental Law
Joe E. Sirven (Miami) - Banking and Finance Law
Ben W. Subin (Orlando) - Construction Litigation
Edward W. Vogel III (Tampa) - Public Finance Law
Andrew H. Weinstein (Miami) - Tax Litigation & Controversy
Barbara Yadley (Tampa) - Banking and Finance Law
Samuel J. Zusmann, Jr. (Orlando) - Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 36,000 leading attorneys cast almost 4.4 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Latest News and Headlines