June 10, 2019

Don’t Miss the First Tribal Treasury Advisory Committee Meeting – June 20, 2019

Holland & Knight Native American Law Blog
Nicole M. Elliott | Kenneth W. Parsons | Kayla Gebeck Carroll

On June 20, the Tribal Treasury Advisory Committee (TTAC) will hold its inaugural meeting at the U.S. Department of Treasury in Washington, D.C.  It is expected that the agenda will include various federal income tax issues relating to Indian Country including:

  • Access to capital
  • Opportunity Zones
  • Changes to the Kiddie Tax
  • General Welfare Exclusion

In addition, the TTAC will identify other topics of interest for 2019.

To REGISTER, click here!

What is the TTAC?

The TTAC was established by the Tribal General Welfare Exclusion Act of 2014 (Pub. L. 113-168) to advise the Treasury Secretary and Internal Revenue Service on matters relating to the taxation of Indians, the training of Internal Revenue Service field agents, and the provision of training and technical assistance to Native American financial officers. Although TTAC was established five years ago, this will be the first official meeting of TTAC members.

Who is on the TTAC?

The TTAC is composed of seven members:

  • Ron Allen, Tribal Chair and CEO, Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe
  • Sharon Edenfield, Tribal Council Member, Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians
  • Eugene Magnuson, Finance Board Treasurer, Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians
  • Rebecca Benally, Member of the Navajo Nation and County Commissioner of San Juan County, Utah
  • Lacey Horn, Treasurer, Cherokee Nation
  • Lynn Malerba, Lifetime Chief, Mohegan Tribe
  • Patricia King, Treasurer, Oneida Nation

What if I am unable to attend?

If you are unable to attend in person, please contact Nicole Elliott , Ken Parsons, or Kayla Gebeck to ensure that your priorities are vocalized in the meeting. Additionally, you can submit comments to Tribal.Consult@treasury.gov.

Related Insights