Press Release
June 17, 2024

Holland & Knight Partner Abbey Garber Recognized as 2024 Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer

DALLAS (June 17, 2024) – Holland & Knight Partner Abbey Garber was recognized as the 2024 Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer by the State Bar of Texas Tax Section at the section's annual meeting in Houston on June 13.

Each year, the Tax Section recognizes one attorney for their "reputation for expertise and professionalism within the community of tax professionals specifically, and the broader legal community." Winners are also recognized for their participation in the State Bar of Texas, American Bar Association, local bar associations or other legal organizations; significant contributions to the general welfare of the community; reputation for ethics; and mentorship of other tax professionals.

Mr. Garber has had a long and distinguished career in both government service and private practice. He served as an attorney, manager and later executive for more than 30 years with the IRS Office of Chief Counsel, where he tried cases of all sizes and complexity in the U.S. Tax Court, earning many significant favorable opinions, including in fraud and tax shelter cases. In addition, Mr. Garber served as the Southwest Area Team Leader in Chief Counsel, charged with ensuring collaboration and cooperation across operating divisions in a nine-state area.

At Holland & Knight, Mr. Garber represents taxpayers in all aspects of IRS practice, including examination, appeals, collection and litigation. He is consistently listed in The Best Lawyers in America, The Legal 500 USA and D Magazine's Best Lawyers in Dallas.

In addition to being a member of the State Bar of Texas since 1985, he has served in several leadership positions within the Tax Section. He is also a member of the Dallas Bar Association and American Bar Association Tax Sections and is a fellow of both the Texas Bar Foundation and the American College of Tax Counsel.

Mr. Garber is the third Holland & Knight attorney to receive the Tax Section's Outstanding Texas Tax Lawyer award, following Emily Parker in 2012 and Mary McNulty in 2021.

Related News and Headlines