Ed Perlmutter is a partner in Holland & Knight's Denver and Washington, D.C., offices and a member of the Public Policy & Regulation Group, where he focuses his practice on governmental and regulatory affairs.

Mr. Perlmutter provides strategic and general counsel to the firm's financial, business and corporate clients. His clients include banks, insurance associations, airports, real estate companies, universities, healthcare organizations, private equity companies, energy companies of all types, aerospace and cannabis organizations. Mr. Perlmutter also serves on a variety of for-profit and nonprofit boards, such as aerospace, military and veterans' healthcare and renewable energy. Additionally, he was appointed by Colorado Gov. Jared Polis to serve on the Colorado Supreme Court Nominating Commission.

Prior to joining Holland & Knight in 2023, Mr. Perlmutter served eight terms in the U.S. Congress, where he was known as a bipartisan bridge-builder. Before his time in Washington, he served in the Colorado Senate for eight years after a legal career that focused on corporate and business bankruptcies at a long-time Denver commercial law firm.

During his time in Congress, Mr. Perlmutter served on the House Committee on Financial Services, where he was chair of the Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Financial Institutions; House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology; House Committee on Rules; House Committee on Homeland Security; and the House Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress. He was also president pro tempore of the Colorado Senate and chairman of the Public Policy and Planning Committee.


  • University of Colorado School of Law, J.D.
  • University of Colorado, B.A.
Bar Admissions/Licenses
  • Colorado
  • District of Columbia
Court Admissions
  • U.S. Supreme Court
  • All Federal Courts in Colorado
  • All State Courts in Colorado
Honors & Awards
  • Public and Community Service Award, Colorado Governor's Citizenship Medals, 2022
  • Congressional Award for Atomic Heroes, Nuclear Care Partners, 2021
  • Retiree Hero, Alliance for Retired Americans, 2017, 2018, 2021
  • Outstanding Legislative Support, Colorado Chapter of the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America, 2019
  • Legislator of the Year Award, Disabled American Veterans, 2018
  • Legislative Champion Award, Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer, 2017
  • Lion Advocacy Award, Colorado Education Association, 2017
  • Legislator of the Year Award, South West Transit Association (SWTA), 2016, 2017
  • Elected Official of the Year, Jefferson County Economic Development Corporation, 2016
  • Distinguished Community Health Advocate, National Association of Community Health Centers, 2014, 2016, 2017
  • Certificate of Appreciation, Women Veterans of Colorado, 2014
  • Legislator of the Year Award, Colorado National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO), 2014
  • Protecting the American Dream Award, American Land Title Association (ALTA), 2013
  • Defender of Homeownership Legislator of the Year, ALTA, 2013
  • Champion Award, University of Colorado, 2013
  • Retiree Hero, Colorado Alliance for Retired Americans, 2012
  • Paul E. Tsongas Economic Patriot Award, The Concord Coalition, 2012
  • Legislative Award, National Association of Human Rights Workers, 2011
  • Distinguished Alumnus, Jefferson County Public Schools, 2011
  • Friend of the National Parks, National Parks Conservation Association, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016
  • Ray of Hope Award, Shade Foundation of America, 2010
  • Legislator of the Year Award, American Planning Association, 2010
  • Tony Coelho Impact Award, Epilepsy Foundation, 2010
  • Legislator of the Year Award, Mountain States Chapter of the Paralyzed Veterans of the United States, 2009, 2010, 2016, 2018
  • A-List Leadership Award, Aurora Economic Development Council, 2009
  • LEED for Existing Buildings Silver Award, U.S. Green Building Council, 2009
  • Congressional Leadership Award, Epilepsy Foundation, 2009
  • Man of the Year Award, Aurora Chapter of the Chamber, 2008
  • Silver Mouse Award, Congressional Management Foundation, 2007, 2011, 2014
  • Distinguished Federal Legislator Award, United Veterans Committee, 2002, 2012, 2016, 2017
  • Alumni Award, University of Colorado School of Law, 2003
  • Presidential Award, Colorado American Planning Association, 2001
  • Outstanding Legislative Service on the Sweepstakes Issue, American Association of Retired Persons, 2000


Speaking Engagements